My short story!

En del av min exam i forensics var att skriva en short story med personerna och så ifrån den boken som vi läste. Jag läste boken Dexter (samma story som tvshowen Dexter). Så om ni vill läsa min short story så var så god! :)



Dexter: The King of the Sea

There was a time when it was just my Dark Passenger and I. We only needed to be concerned about ourselves. That not the case anymore. Now so many other people are involved in my life — Deborah, Rita, Astor and Cody. They mean so much to me, but I can’t lose myself because of love. It is different to have to think of someone other than me, to have a time when I need be home for dinner with my family. I like it but it’s hard to keep my secret.

“Dexter, hurry up!” Deborah said when she swished by my door. Everyone in the department was moving. It must be something big.
I took the kit that I always have with me to a crime scene and went down to Deborah’s car. I always catch rides with her.
“They found one more,” she said, turning a corner so the tires screamed. She always gets surprised that her tires wear out so fast, but I think I know why. My sister is kind of a crazy driver.
“One more?” I responded.
“Yes, she was stabbed to death in the stomach, had a M carved in her left cheek and all her hair on her head was shaved off. Just like the other two girls.”

He had done it again. It was time. Time for the Dark Passenger to take over. I cannot let this go on anymore, I need to bring him down.

We came to the crime scene, and there were already a lot of people standing outside the yellow tape, trying to descry the body. We showed our badges and entered the scene.
It was bloody and the body was placed on the beach, just like the other two.
I could tell just by looking at her that she hadn't been moved after she was stabbed. Blood was all over her clothes. I collected some samples and went back to the the station to see if she had any connections with the other girls.

I checked her DNA and compared it to the other two that I already had. They didn’t match. Why these girls? Why the M? Is it a clue or just a marking?
I couldn’t do anything more right now. It was 5 a’clock. Time to go home, time to be the perfect husband and the perfect dad.

“DEXTER IS HOME!” Cody screamed and ran to give me a hug. That really reminded me of how much I love these kids.
I gave Rita a kiss and we sat down to eat dinner. Rita always cooked amazing food.
“So how was your day?” she asked as she looked up and smiled at me.
“It was good. We found another body. Looks like we have a serial killer loose.”
She gave me one of those looks that said “Don’t talk about dead bodies in front of the children.” But it was too late. Astor and Cody loved to hear about my day at work and the dead bodies and if I’d caught any bad people. I had tried to explain for them that I’m not the person who put the bad people in jail, but they won’t believe me. They think I do everything myself, that I’m the only hero.
Rita saved me the trouble of doing it all over again, because she started to talk about Disneyland. We were going there this week-end. I smiled at her as a thanks.

“Hey Dex, come here” Deborah said, just the second I stepped out of the elevator. She had dark rings under her eyes and there were five coffee cups on her desk.
“Debs, have you been here all night?” I asked her and looked from the coffee cups to her face.
“Eeh, yupp. But it was so worth it. Guess what I found out?” she continued before I could say “No.” “I’ve found the connection between the girls!”. I opened my mouth to say something, but she just waved at me to be quiet. “Uh, uh… They all go to the same gym!”
Finally I could sneak in a comment. “Oh, great! Anything else they have in common?”. She looked at me with an annoyed look and said: “Anything else! Dexter, this is all I have and it’s a huge step!” She walked away, clearly mad that I hadn’t jumped and clapped my hands with joy over what she had found out.

I was changing my clothes. I was at the gym, the same gym that the dead girls used to go to. I had tried to find more than that but I couldn't so I decided to take a closer look.
I kept a discrete profile and observed all the people there.
Suddenly a girl came and started to run on the lane next to me.
“You’re new right?” she asked me.
I looked up at her: brown hair, pretty short, a big smile and bright pink shoes.
“Yeah, I am.”
“Oh, you are going to love it here. Everyone is so nice. My trainer has even offered me some personal training on the beach. Isn’t that nice?” and she smiled.
“The beach, huh?”
“Yes, I think he likes me. Well, I got to go. I hope to see you again!” She waved at me and disappeared to the girls locker room.

“Dexter, another victim. You have to come in early. I know it’s Saturday morning but just come, okay?”
It was Deborah. I said that I would come as fast as I could. I even skipped breakfast.
I showed my badge, and I went closer to take a look at the body. Same injuries as the other girls. I bent down to get my kit and then I realized and took another look at the body. Bright pink shoes. This was the girl from the gym.

After a few days after they found the forth girl, Deborah came into my lab at the department.
“Fucking shit, I know who did it, and I can prove it, but he’s gone. Nobody knows where he is. His car is still there, his mail is in the mailbox. It’s like he is dead or something.”
I stared at her for a minute. “Wait a second,” I said. “Who is he?”
“The trainer at the gym, of course. Apparently he offered girls some personal training on the beach. They thought he was just nice, and then he killed them. What a jerk! And now he’s gone.”

I, or, we know exactly where he is, or where his body is. On the bottom of the sea, together with the other bodies that deserve to be there. The bodies that the Dark Passenger and I put there after we killed them. The trainer got what he deserved.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0